Community Engagement and Restoration Mentorship Program

Through the Community Engagement and Restoration Mini Grant Program, the Trust seeks to engage new applicants and organizations from a diverse array of communities in small-scale projects that enhance communities, engage residents, and improve natural resources. With this goal in mind, the Trust offers a Mentorship Opportunity to first-time applicants in need of assistance in applying to the mini grant program. The Mentorship Opportunity is also an initiative to foster working relationships between organizations who are experienced in grant-writing and project management and those that are new to the Trust’s programs.

Why participate: As a mentor organization, you’re able to broaden your network of volunteers and partnerships. Mentors who successfully mentor a new organization have the renewed ability to apply for a mini grant. As a mentee organization, you benefit from the expertise and technical support of an organization familiar with grant writing and project implementation. This is also an opportunity for mentee organizations to form new partnerships for future projects.

Who can participate: Mentors: Organizations that have received more than three grants from any of the Trust’s programs and can make available at least 8 hours to support a new applicant. Mentees: Organizations that are new applicants to the Trust and are therefore eligible to apply to the mini grant program.

Program Description

View the full Mentorship Program Description

Questions & Technical Support

Kathy Somoza
ksomoza@cbtrust.org
410-974-2941 x120

Mentor List

Below is a table of the currently available Mentor Organizations, in alphabetical order. The full list of Mentor Organizations can be accessed through the button below.  If you are interested in serving as a Mentor, please contact the mini grant program’s manager.

View full list of Mentor Organizations
Mentor Organization Location Contact Information
1. Adkins Arboretumwww.adkinsarboretum.org Located on the Eastern Shore of Maryland approximately 90 minutes from the metropolitan areas of Washington, DC, and Baltimore. 12610 Eveland Road, Ridgely, MD 21660 Ginna Tiernan – gtiernan@adkinsarboretum.org
2. Annapolis Maritime Museum – www.amaritime.org/

 

723 2nd Street, Annapolis, MD 21403 Sarah Krizek, Education Director – education@amaritime.org
3. Arundel Rivers Federation www.arundelrivers.org Edgewater, Maryland (Anne Arundel County) Jennifer Carr – jennifer@arundelrivers.org; 717-575-8214
4. Audubon Naturalist Society (ANS)www.anshome.org Washington DC area. While the majority of our programs take place at locations across the Washington DC metro region, the ANS headquarters is located at Woodend Nature Sanctuary in Chevy Chase, MD just inside the Beltway and west of Rock Creek. We also host programs at our Rust Nature Sanctuary in Leesburg, VA. Lisa Alexander – lisa.alexander@anshome.org; 301-652-9188
5. Lower Shore Land Trust (LSLT) www.lowershorelandtrust.org LSLT is located in Snow Hill, Maryland, on the banks of the Pocomoke River. Kate Patton – kpatton@lowershorelandtrust.org; 443-234-5587
6. Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway –  www.UpperBayTrails.com Along the banks of the Susquehanna River and the Upper Bay, in Harford and Cecil Counties Brigitte Carty – brigitte@upperbaytrails.com; 410-457-2482
7. Maryland Water Monitoring Council http://dnr.maryland.gov/streams/Pages/MWMC/index.aspx Annapolis, Maryland (Anne Arundel County) and statewide Dan Boward, MWMC Executive Secretary –  dan.boward@maryland.gov; 410.260.8605
8. Muddy Branch Alliance – https://muddybranch.org/ 19 Turnham Lane, Gaithersburg, MD 20878.

 

Lauren Hubbard, Lands Green Waters Clean Program Manager – LGWC@MuddyBranch.Org; 631-764-6226
9. Olde Severna Park Improvement Association www.oldesevernapark.com Olde Severna Park, Severna Park MD 21146

 

Ann Jackson – annjackson61@gmail.com; 443-223-7236
10. Pigtown Main Street www.pigtownmainstreet.org Pigtown Main Street is located in the Pigtown neighborhood of Southwest Baltimore (city).

 

Kim Lane – director@historicpigtown.org
11. Potomac Conservancy www.potomac.org Silver Spring, MD

 

Rebecca Luib – luib@potomac.org
12. ShoreRivers – www.shorerivers.org

 

ShoreRivers Headquarters: 114 S. Washington St. Suite 301, Eastern Shore Conservation Center, Easton, MD 21601
ShoreRivers Sassafras: 111A North Main St, Galena, MD 21635
ShoreRivers Chestertown: 207 South Water St. Unit B, Chestertown, MD 21620
Darran White Tilghman, Director of Community Engagement – dtilghman@shorerivers.org
13. St. Mary’s College of Marylandwww.smcm.edu St. Mary’s City, MD

 

Adam Malisch, Research Administrator – ajmalisch@smcm.edu

 

14. Town of Edmonston www.edmonstonmd.gov Edmonston, Maryland (Prince George’s County)

 

Rod Barnes – rbarnes@edmonstonmd.gov; 301-699-8806